CANCELED - Viola Recital - Part II - Brahms & the viola

Rolston String Quartet, Miguel da Silva
& Jonathan Fournel

Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Rolston String Quartet
Miguel da Silva, viola
Jonathan Fournel, piano

J. Brahms: String Quintet No. 2, in G major, op. 111

J. Brahms: Sonata No. 2, in E-flat major, for viola &
piano, op. 120, No. 2

J. Brahms: Piano Quintet, in f minor, op. 34

Brahms only began composing a string quintet for two violas in 1882 and eight years later – after the completion of his string quintet no. 2, op.111, also for two violas – he left his professional activities as a composer. However, that farewell will not last long.
After listening to clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld, a new creative fever takes hold of him, and he creates a quintet, a trio and two sonatas for clarinet. The two sonatas for clarinet, composed in 1894, are quickly arranged for viola and piano. Since the two instruments have different sound priorities, Brahms works on an almost complete reworking of the work in order to emphasize the viola’s inherent qualities.

In collaboration with the Salle Bourgie, Montréal