CANCELED - Beethoven' Symphonies

transcribed by Liszt

Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Louis Lortie, piano
Avedis Kouyoumidjian, piano
L. van Beethoven/ F. Liszt: Symphony No. 9, in d minor, op. 125, “Choral”
I. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
II. Scherzo. Molto vivace – Presto
III. Adagio molto e cantabile
IV. Presto – Allegro assai ;
Allegro molto assai (Alla marcia);
Andante maestoso – Adagio ma non troppo, ma divoto
Allegro energico, sempre ben marcato
– Allegro ma non tanto – Pressitissmo

For the young Romantic generation and the following, the figure of Beethoven is similar to almost in the figure of a demiurge laying the foundations of a new musical universe. Among the masterpieces of his creation includes all nine symphonies. However, these are materially difficult to assemble. For this reason, in 1835, Franz Liszt began the project of reducing these symphonies for solo piano, making it possible to integrate the work into the repertoire of his recitals. Convinced of the impossibility of rendering the ninth symphony in a satisfactory reduced version, Liszt in 1850, realized a version for two pianos.