Spanish Capriccio

On Tour

20:00 Westrand Cultuurcentrum Dilbeek

Frascati Symphonic
Kris Stroobants, conductor
Stéphanie Huang, cello
R. Korsakov: Spanish Cappriccio

M. Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte

M. De Jonghe: Obstinato 3

J. Haydn: Cello Concerto No.2 in D major, Hob.VIIb:2

G. Bizet: Carmen, Suite No. 2, Entr’Acte

G. Bizet: L’Arlésienne, Farandole

Frascati Symphonic presents a varied, energetic program. The Spanish Cappriccio by the Russian composer Korsakov immediately sets the tone with its 5-part orchestral suite inspired by Spanish folk melodies.

The intimate Pavane pour une infante défunte by Maurice Ravel forms an interesting contrast to the first work. For his Pavane, Ravel was inspired by the death of a Spanish princess. Although the composer himself did not consider it his greatest work, it became immensely popular.

Apart from Frascati’s core task of letting young musicians gain experience in a symphony orchestra, it also includes new music by Belgian composers in its programme. For this concert, we chose the composer Marcel De Jonghe with his Obstinato 3, who is not unknown in Dilbeek.

In its choice of soloists, Frascati works closely with the Muziekkapel Koningin Elisabeth. The soloist of the evening is cellist Stéphanie Huang, who will masterfully perform the Concerto in re by Joseph Haydn. She is one of the candidates for the cello competition in 2022.

The concert will end with two exuberant works by George Bizet.