CANCELED- Recital - A. Dumay & H. Mercier

Schumann, Brahms & Franck

Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Augustin Dumay, violin
Hélène Mercier, piano

R. Schumann: 3 Romanzen, op. 94
I. Nicht schnell
II. Einfach, innig
III. Nicht schnell

J. Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 3, op. 108
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Un poco presto e con sentimento
IV. Presto agitato

C. Franck: Violin sonata in A major
I. Allegretto ben moderato
II. Allegro
III. Recitativo-Fantasia: Ben moderato
IV. Allegretto poco mosso

On September 28, 1886, in the city of Arlon is celebrated the wedding of the violinist Eugène Ysaÿe. That day, among the presents, is the manuscript of a violin sonata and piano composed by César Franck. In this work, Franck succeeds in brilliantly expressing his melodic art, but also his knowledge as an architect of the form musical, shaking up the codes of the Sonata. Thanks to its many qualities, this work quickly finds its way to a place of choice in the violin repertoire and remains today unavoidable.