Opening Concert

MuCH Waterloo Festival

20:15 Haas Teichen Studio, Music Chapel

50 years of Sino-Belgian diplomatic relations

Sergeï Redkin, piano (2d Prize of the Queen Elisabeth Competition)
C. Debussy: L’Isle Joyeuse, CD. 109

Stéphanie Huang, cello
Jean-Claude Vanden Eynden, piano
C. Franck: Sonata in A major, for cello & piano, FWV. 8
I. Allegretto ben moderato
II. Allegro
III. Recitativo-Fantasia. Ben moderato — Molto lento
IV. Allegretto poco mosso

Shuichi Okada, violin
Leon Blekh, violin
Takumi Nozawa, viola
Stéphanie Huang, cello
Sergeï Redkin, piano (2d Prize of the Queen Elisabeth Competition)
A. Dvořák: Piano Quintet No. 2, in A major, op. 81
I. Allegro ma non tanto 
II. Dumka. Andante con moto 
III. Scherzo (Furiant). Molto vivace — Poco tranquillo
IV. Finale. Allegro

On 28 September 1886, the wedding of violinist Eugène Ysaÿe was celebrated in the town of Arlon. Among the gifts received that day was the manuscript of a sonata for violin and piano composed by César Franck. In this work, Franck succeeds brilliantly in expressing, not only his art of the melody, but also his knowledge as an architect of the musical form, shaking up the codes of the sonata. Thanks to its many qualities, this work quickly found a place of choice in the violin repertoire, but also in that of the cello, whose transcription was soon realized.


30 – 20* €
* -18, + 65, unemployed, person with a disability
Special conditions for Maecenas:

Livestreamed here or on our Youtube Channel

With the support of 


We would like to thank:

Our structural sponsors – ING, Proximus and Ginion Group.

Our institutional partners – the « Loterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij » and the « Banque Nationale de Belgique / Nationale Bank van België ».

The Foundations – Baillet Latour Fund, Foundation Futur21, King Baudouin Foundation, Foundation Engie, Guttman collection -, the corporate partners, all the Maecenas and those who prefer to remain anonymous.

Thank you also to our public support – the « Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles », Belspo, the « Province du Brabant Wallon », the « Commune de Waterloo ».