Digital Concert – Fauré, Lekeu & Franck

Gary Hoffman & MuCH Soloists

20:15 Streaming @Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Streaming here or on our Youtube channel on June 3, 2021 at 8:15 pm. 

Gary Hoffman, cello
Alexandre Chenorkian, piano
G. Fauré: Élégie, for cello & piano, op. 24

Shuichi Okada, violin
Kojiro Okada, piano
G. Lekeu: Sonata in G major, for violin & piano
I. Très modéré – Vif et passionné
II. Très lent
III. Très animé

Shuichi Okada, violin
Gary Hoffman, cello
Alexandre Chenorkian,, piano
C. Franck: Piano Trio No. 4, in B minor, op. 2

The growth of the French chamber music repertoire at the end of the nineteenth century owes a great debt to Gabriel Fauré and César Franck. As members of the Société Nationale de Musique founded in 1871, they sought to promote an ‘Ars Gallica’. Franck had many students and admirers, including the young Guillaume Lekeu, from whom Eugène Ysaÿe commissioned a violin sonata. Influenced by his teacher’s music, Lekeu composed a work of great internal coherence whose main themes and motifs are introduced in the first movement and then developed, modified, and superimposed in the subsequent movements.

We would like to thank:

Our structural sponsors – ING, Proximus and Ginion Group.

Our institutional partners – the « Loterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij » and the « Banque Nationale de Belgique / Nationale Bank van België ».

The Foundations – Baillet Latour Fund, Foundation Futur21, King Baudouin Foundation, Foundation Engie, Guttman collection -, the corporate partners, all the Maecenas and those who prefer to remain anonymous.

Thank you also to our public support – the « Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles », Belspo, the « Province du Brabant Wallon », the « Commune de Waterloo ».