Beethoven, Brahms & Fauré

Louis Lortie, Quatuor Adorno

20:15 Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Quatuor Adorno
Louis Lortie, piano

G. Fauré: Piano Quintet No. 2, in c minor, op. 115
I. Allegro moderato
II. Allegro vivo
III. Andante moderato
IV. Allegro molto

J. Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 2, in A major, op. 100

L. van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 11, in f minor, op. 95, “Serioso”

While the writing of the first keyboard quintet was long and laborious, Fauré’s second quintet seems to have been a  natural process, even a musical rejuvenation cure. The work was composed in 1921 by the
then 76-year-old composer and shows a vitality and a force that is undoubtedly reminiscent of his
youth work. On the other hand, Beethoven’s Quartetto Serioso surprise by the wide variety of character developed in a yet concise work. This string quartet was composed during a major depressive period and announces, in contrast to the quintet of Fauré, the great works on from Beethoven’s last period.

In collaboration with the Phillips collection


Le Chapel Restaurant: 18:30 to 20:00
& Bar after concert +32 (0)2 352 06 63
Reservation required –


id sem, sed in ante. efficitur. velit, Praesent