CANCELED - Viola recital - Part I - Brahms & the viola

Rolston String Quartet, Miguel da Silva
& Jonathan Fournel

Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Rolston String Quartet
Miguel da Silva, viola
Jonathan Fournel, piano

J. Brahms: Sonata No. 1, in f minor, for viola & piano, op. 120

J. Brahms: String Quartet No. 2 in a minor, op. 51

J. Brahms: String Quintet No. 1, in F major, op. 88

The Rolston Quartet, Miguel da Silva and Jonathan Fournel are committed to a two-pronged program, entirely devoted to the great works of Brahms. Johannes Brahms explored the different possibilities offered by the chamber repertoire and interest in the strings quintet was quickly born in him. The first of these is composed for two cellos. It is only after the violinist’s Joseph Joachim revisions that the composer agrees to change his work as a keyboard quintet. This change
results in the composition of the famous Quintet op. 34 (1862), one of his seminal works. Before taking the form of the string quintet, Brahms will explore that of the string quartet. Among these, the Quartet n°2, op. 51 n°2 (1865-73) is remarkable by its contrasts, its structure, and its typical Brahmsian style, between tradition and modernity.

In collaboration with the Salle Bourgie, Montréal