New Year’s concert – Bruckner, Dvořák & Shostakovitch

Bruckner, Dvořák & Shostakovitch

Streaming @Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Streaming here or on our Youtube channel on January 21, 2021 at 8:15 pm.

MuCH Ensemble

Anna Agafia Egholm, violin
Fasli Kamberi, violin
Shuichi Okada, violin
Luka Ispir, violin
Natalia Kotarba, violin
Quentin Vogel, violin
Pierre-Alain Baron, violin
Miguel da Silva, viola
Takumi Nozawa, viola
Yee Ling Elaine Ng, viola
Ari Evan, cello
Mariona Camats, cello
Stéphanie Huang, cello
Philippe Cormann, contrabass

A. Dvořák: Serenade for strings, in E major, op. 22
I. Moderato
II. Tempo di Valse
III. Scherzo: Vivace
IV. Larghetto
V. Finale: Allegro vivace

A. Bruckner: String Quintet, in F Major, WAB. 112 – 3

D. Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony for strings, in c minor, op. 110a

Anton Bruckner’s forays into the chamber music repertoire are rare enough to be noticed, as evidenced by his String Quintet based on the Mozart system (with two violas). In his first movement and his Scherzo, Bruckner succeeds in exploiting the textures of his instrumentation and in rendering writing that is both intimate and complex. Nevertheless, he does not deny his job as a symphonist, which is expressed in the thematic work or in the scale of his movements. As such, the Adagio, towards which all the movements seem to converge, recalls both the composer’s most beautiful symphonic pages and Beethoven’s last string quartets.


Thank you to our structural sponsors – ING, Proximus and Ginion Group -, the Foundations – Baillet Latour Fund, Foundation Futur21, King Baudouin Foundation, Guttman collection -, the corporate partners, all the Maecenas and those who prefer to remain anonymous.
Thank you also to our public support – the « Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles », Belspo, the « Province du Brabant Wallon », the « Commune de Waterloo », to our institutional partners – the « Lotterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij » and the « Banque Nationale de Belgique / Nationale Bank van België ».