Ravel's Blue

MuCH Waterloo Festival

16:00 Garden Stage, Music Chapel

Shuichi Okada, violin
Kojiro Okada, piano
M. Ravel : Violin Sonata No. 2, in G major, M. 77
I. Allegretto
II. Blues. Moderato
III. Perpetuum mobile. Allegro

Mariona Camats, cello
Lana Suran, piano
S. Prokofiev : Cello Sonata, in C major, op. 119
I. Andante grave – Moderato animato – Andante – Andante grave, come prima
II. Moderato – Andante dolce – Moderato primo
III. Allegro, ma non troppo

Ravel, it is said, claimed to have written his Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major to demonstrate the incompatibility of the violin and the piano. While, in the first movement, he played at emphasizing this approach, the central Blues and the Perpetuum mobile develop other points. As its name indicates, Blues refers to American music, with a violin that sometimes evokes the banjo and harmonies that suggest the famous Blue Note. However, Ravel does not deny himself and integrates these elements into his own writing.

Composed at the instigation of cellist Mstislav Rostropovitch, Prokofiev’s Sonata for Cello and Piano stands out for its apparent simplicity, its lyricism and its softened harmony, far from the composer’s habits. But it remains to be seen whether this intention was the author’s own or whether it was due to the need not to be judged “hostile to the spirit of the people” by the various committees …

Daily Pass:

20 €*

*Access to the site and to all the concerts on June 20, 2021 from 12 to 5 pm.

Le Chapel Restaurant: 12:00 > 14:00 for lunch (sold out)

Street food & drinks will be available outside all day long!

With the support of 

We would like to thank:

Our structural sponsors – ING, Proximus and Ginion Group.

Our institutional partners – the « Loterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij » and the « Banque Nationale de Belgique / Nationale Bank van België ».

The Foundations – Baillet Latour Fund, Foundation Futur21, King Baudouin Foundation, Foundation Engie, Guttman collection -, the corporate partners, all the Maecenas and those who prefer to remain anonymous.

Thank you also to our public support – the « Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles », Belspo, the « Province du Brabant Wallon », the « Commune de Waterloo ».