Haydn’s Concerti

New Year’s Concert

20:15 Music Chapel, Studio Haas Teichen

Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie
Edvard Pogossian, cello
J. Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1, in C major, Hob. VIIb:1

Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie
Stéphanie Huang, cello
J. Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 2, in D major, op. 101, Hob. VIIb:2

Dedicated to the principal cellist of Prince Esterházy’s orchestra, Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1 was discovered in Prague in 1961. The work is framed by two monothematic movements, in the style of Vivaldi, while in the Adagio we see the emerging dual themes of the sonata form. Among the subtleties of the concerto, the veiled entrance of the soloist in the last two movements is a technique that Mozart would use and develop to perfection.

L. Lauwers


* – 18, + 65, unemployed, person with a disability, free under 3 years old
Special conditions for Maecenas: funding@musicchapel.org

le chapel restaurant:

Booking: wwc.resengo.com 

We would like to thank:

Our structural sponsors – ING, Proximus and Ginion Group.

Our institutional partners – the « Loterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij » and the « Banque Nationale de Belgique / Nationale Bank van België ».

The Foundations – Baillet Latour Fund, Foundation Futur21, King Baudouin Foundation, Foundation Engie, Guttman collection -, the corporate partners, all the Maecenas and those who prefer to remain anonymous.

Thank you also to our public support – the « Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles », Belspo, the « Province du Brabant Wallon », the « Commune de Waterloo ».